What's Really Warming the Planet?

greenghost

greenghost

Very nicely done article that offers up some convincing stats in an engaging way.

I guess the only question it doesn't address is what's causing the increase in greenhouse gases.

I didn't get into where all the data and simulations come from.

Once upon a time I was a climate researcher for the DOE, by the way. These kind of things can be easily manipulated to show what you want to show. That's not to say I don't believe CO2 emissions are the primary culprit. I do. I'm just saying it's not something that really can be proven, one way or the other.

For instance, the "simulations" are assuming different factors have different strength influences. The strongest one, for CO2, for instance, is based on looking at historical (over hundreds and thousands and even millions of years) CO2 concentrations and comparing to known temperature anomalies. From that you get a forcing factor, which is inputted into the model. It tells you that historical temperatures are well correlated to historical CO2 concentrations. And that's true.