Dam on Pine Creek?

W

wsender

I heard, second hand, that two hikers were hiking on Rails to Trails heading towards Waterville and they encountered what looks like the start of a dam and a possible diversion channel to aid the construction. I don't know these people so I have no idea how knowledgeable they are in area's regarding things like this so I'm skeptical.

Is there possibly an existing weir in the area that could be confused as something new and a naturally occurring cutback channel could be confused as the diversionary channel?

The person said it was going to be used so 'frackers can draw more water'. I don't remember seeing anything about a damn being built in the area though. Any light on the subject would be great.

they'd probably like to build a big one at waterville and just flood the entire canyon.

just learned its a pumping station. Going to pump water to the top of mountain for fracking...I kid you not!

here is a link to an article on this subject.

http://lockhaven.com/page/content.detail/id/531549/Water-For-Gas.html?nav=5009

I wonder what the cost of getting water to a well site is?

reds nailed it right on the head with that link. I just logged on to post it. This really sucks..... :-(

wsender wrote:
reds nailed it right on the head with that link. I just logged on to post it. This really sucks..... :-(

Probably a lot less of an environmental impact than trucking the water. I'm just surprised that it is cost effective.

I think the impact he was referring to was taking it from Pine creek in the first place, regardless of the method.