New guy

S

silent

So I'm new to fly fishing just started this season and so far my luck has been terrible. I've been practicing my cast and I think I'm doing good so far, I can get my line out a decent distance and usually within the area I want. I've tried a few different spots like Hay Creek, Antietam Creek and The Tulpehocken and just don't seem to have any luck mostly using zebra midges, bead head prince nymphs and a pt nymph. Anyone have any advice? I enjoy being out on the water fly fishing but I would enjoy it more if I could catch a few ;)

silent.........you WILL catch a few if you keep at it , don't get discouraged , try finding a nice farm pond full of bluegills , they will take the flies you mention eagerly , you won't get bored 'cause you'll be catching fish and you will also learn casting , playing and landing fish before you know it. DON"T GIVE UP!!!

Well I'm pretty new to the area and don't really know too many places around here. I was referred to the tully by tco outfitters in west lawn, I was out on the creek from 2p to about 5, saw a few fish rising about 15 feet away and even one crazy little fellow jumping out the water a few times not far from me either. Needless to say after that I felt terrible and headed home.

Silent,

I'm sure there are plenty of fish in the streams you've fished, so hang in there. Also the flies you are using should catch fish.

Probably the easiest way to get started is with a woolly bugger. Cast across stream and allow the fly to drift in the current and swing across the stream. Also try stripping as the fly swings to see what presentation the fish like that day. You can also fish a bugger quartering upstream and fishing without drag, after it drifts downstream, swing and strip as above.

Try the Indicator rig seen below. Put the Indy 11/2 to 2X the depth of the water. If you are not hitting bottom occasionally, add a small split shot 8" +/- above the fly as shown below.