Help with Wooly Buggers

TUrainbow88

TUrainbow88

Hello all,

I'm a little new to fly fishing, my question is, I'm having problems fishing a wooly bugger! I can get a Trout to chase it, but they never take! What am I doing wrong? One more question is what's a good wooly bugger color to use for winter fishing??? Please help!

Not sure if I'm 100% correct here but I generally fish buggers like I would a nymph or live minnow. I cast at a 45 degree angle upstream and drift them like I do a nymph. At the end of drift, sometimes I strip in in a few feet. You can also give it some movement by bouncing or wiggling rod tip.

As for winter colors, I'm not real sure on that either cause I don't have much experience fishing them in winter but when I started tying flies, my buddy taught me and told me his best colors were an all black bugger and an olive bodied one with black or brown tail and black hackle.

Hope this helps a little bit. I'm sure you will get some better answers on here too.

I don't know that theres actually a wrong way to fish a bugger...I've drifted them like a nymph, quartered them like a streamer, randomly stripped them and even stood upstream and just stripped off line a foot or two at a time and let them flow downstream...gotten fish on all of them..

Colors: olive, black, or brown

That was always my frustration with buggers are the chases and turn aways.
However, when a fish truely wants it they will slam it and that is rewarding.

Colors for Winter...probably black and olive. Although red and orange probably aren't bad choises either. (mating colors = excited fish)

As far as colors go, I agree with the above...olive and black for trout, regardless of time of year. I like chartruse and white for warmwater species though.