Finding small streams

jeremymcon

jeremymcon

I've been hearing about fishing small streams for wild trout. I looked on the PAFBC website, and did manage to find a list of streams where wild trout populations are know to exist, but I have trouble actually finding the streams. The list gives GPS coordinates for some point along the stream, but even with that I haven't been able to find a place where I can get onto one without being on someone's property.

I've been thinking that it'd be good to get a detailed map that would show where exactly these little streams are, but I can't seem to find a source for detailed topographical maps for this area.

So, is there a good method for finding small streams?

I've been using the PA delorme to find remote streams for many years. It's got plenty of detail for that, and I really don't think any better topo maps are needed IMO.

As for streams - or sections of them - being posted, well that's part of the game. But you can still pretty much assume that any stream running on public land - state forest or park etc. - would not be posted.
There are definitely many WT streams open to fishing

Look at maps online or just look at a PA highway map and figure out what state forests are close to you. Then Google the name of those state forests and get their phone numbers. Then call them, and they will send you a free state forest map.

Then you just fish the small streams in those state forests.

Also figure out which state gamelands are nearby. The PGC no longer makes printed maps. But they have the SGL maps on the internet.

And as dryflyguy said, get the DeLorme Atlas.

Type the coordinates into Google maps and add a - to the second coordinate and it will take you to the streams mouth. Now I'll warn you that there are 67 Laurel Runs and over 20 Laurel Creeks in PA with as many as 4 or five of the same in any particular county, so yes just looking at a map won't always get you to the right stream.