Essential Flies?

F

froggyman

Hi there, I'm completely new to the sport of fly fishing after spending much time in as a spin fisherman. i recently ordered my first rod and was wondering what fly would be considered essential for stream trout and panfish/pickerel
So far I've ordered
12 Olive Matuka size 12
12 Adams Dry size 12
12 Coachman size 12

Thank you

Beadhead Wooly Bugger
Black
Brown
Olive
White (stocked fish)

My suggestions:
1. You did well to get some Adams dries, though you might want some size 14's.
2. Get some size 12 and 14 beadhead nymphs; it probably isn't too important what kind. I like Hares Ear and Muskrat nymphs.
3. Some Copper John nymphs in sizes 12 and 14 might be helpful.
4. Some caddis dry flies. The Troth Caddis style is popular. I like the Wright Caddis style. Get them in several colors, including grayish ones and tan ones. Sizes 14 and 16.
5. As you progress, some smaller flies will be helpful, such as a Griffith's Gnat in size 18 or even smaller.
6. When you begin encountering fly hatches, you'll want hatch matchers. My guess is that you'll encounter gray flies in the spring, for which the Adams is oftern close enough. In May, most places have some sulphurs, which can be matched with flies in sizes 14 thru 18.

7. This is a lot to digest at first. But, if you stock up in numbers 1-5, you ought to be ready to go for many outings.

csoult-white for stockies? I've always heard/experienced a preference for orange. also as far as beadheads go, have you had any luck/experience with tungsten heads over the traditional bead?

rrt-as far as caddis would it be helpful to get some nymphs as well? the streams up here have plenty of stonefly and caddis larvae though im not sure of their palatability.

Also as far as warm water flies go, could you point me in the direction of some patterns that imitate small baitfish?

I would also suggest some ants and beetles. I catch fish on them all summer and fall