Beginner, never fly fished

C

Chet1185

Hello everyone.

Just wanted to introduce myself as I'm new to fly fishing and this forum. My name is chet and I'm from central PA. I'm 30 years old and have been trout fishing all my life. Never once tried fly fishing. I have just recently found a new place to fish. It is a class a trophy trout water. I've used a rapala the 2 times I have gone with great success.

The stream is Penn's creek which I'm sure all the fly fishermen know. Fly fishing is big there and that's why I want to learn. I just purchased a 8'6 5wt cabelas prestige combo. I'm on another fly fishing forum and meet a guy that ties flies. He pulled the hatch chart for Penn's and made me 100 flies.

I'm very excited to get out on the water but I need to learn and practice casting first. I'm watching every video I can and reading everything I can.

Hope to hear from everyone.

Hey Chet, welcome to the forum. You have found the right place to ask questions because there are a ton of knowledgeable people on here that will be more than happy to help.

Chet,
Welcome to fly fishing (FFing) and to our online community. Glad to have yuh.

Take some time, if you haven't already done so, and read through some of the threads here in the Beginner's Forum and feel free to ask questions about the sport. FFing has a large and esoteric language that sometime intimidates beginners. Specific questions about terminology or concepts are easier for us to answer than broad questions such as, "how do I catch trout."

Your 8' 5WT rod is perfect.

Hi Chet, welcome to the forum, and flyfishing. Just starting out can be frustrating at times, but often the problems you're having are easily fixed. I would suggest joining your local Trout Unlimited chapter. While not specifically a fly fishing club, a majority of members fly fish, and will offer support.

If you are having casting issues, you can also search for a casting instructor through the Federation of Fly Fishers website.