Backpacking fly fishing questions...

P

Philosofish

I'm looking to put together an ultralight fly fishing setup for under $150 bucks to bring backpacking with me. Ideally something that breaks down real small. I know about Tenkara but because I am a beginner fly fisherman (haven't even caught a fish yet), I want to learn how to master using a reel.

So far I've found these:

Wild Water Fly Fishing "Wild Country" 3 Weight, 5 Foot 6 Inches, 4 Piece Freshwater Fishing Rod

Cortland Travel Fly Fishing Outfit Combo 9'0" 5/6 Weight 4-Piece

For the Wild Water rod, I'd need to buy a reel which would probably make it more expensive than the Cortland. A 5 foot 6 inch rod seems awful small but it has the added benefit of being super compact for carrying on my back. Weight/size is crucial.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Also, any recommendations of areas in NEPA where a 4 hour or less hike can put you right next to a stream/creek in solitude? I had a great recommendation already in another thread.

A little above your price range ($198), but great BPing rods. I have a 6/7' 4wt 7piece that fits in a backpack.

http://store.beekflies.com/marchbrown4.html

Good luck.

I recommend getting a 5 piece, 7 1/2 ft, 4 wt rod. That will be small enough to backpack, but give you enough power for casting.

@ afishinado: Nice looking rod. I like how you can remove a section to change the length of the rod. But yeah, a little out of my price range.

@ troutbert: Thanks. Any brand recommendations in my price range ($150)?

Since making that post, I also found this one:

Dblue Customized Travel Fly Rod 8'9" 7 pcs

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=390141282906&rvr_id=&crlp=1_263602_263622&UA=WXF%3F&GUID=91dd027811a0a04179832003fffc0a4a&itemid=390141282906&ff4=263602_263622

Would a 7 piece rod be a nightmare?

What kind of affordable lightweight reel would be good for these rods?

Here's a 71/2' 4wt 6-piece from Cabelas for $130. If you can, try test casting it at the store: