A 4 year old Beginner

JVenezia

JVenezia

Bee in the forums here for going on 4 years now and I still feel I am a newbie. Still need help casting and the general approach to a body of water. I.E. what is the hatch? what do I pull from 300 flies I am carrying. I fell like i am just overdoing it when I hit the water, there has to be a way to scale it back and enjoy my time instead of if i carried in enough gear or the right gear.

First and formost for this spring is working on casting.... If anyone is local to lancaster and would like to give a hand I would very much appreciate it.

Also people can always inbox me if they like.

I feel your pain. Find I share the same feelings.

Sometimes I think I catch fish in spite of myself!

Tim Robinsin is also in Lancaster, and is a casting instructor. Send him a pm.

Unfortunately I am unable to pay for lessons at this point in time.

My flyfishing perspective>>>>>

Equipment: Very important that the rod and reel balance well or that the butt end (reel end) of the rod is a little heavier. (If your arm is tired after a few casts it is top heavy.)

Make sure the reel is set up properly with backing/ line wt. This will help ensure that it will be balanced correctly. Unless you know how much backing needs to be put on the reel, go to the local flyshop and have them set it up for you.

How is your leader/tippet set up? I keep mine just a little longer than the rod itself.

Location: If you have no fish in the area it will be difficult to catch one. So location is important.

Fish like to hide: Look for rocks where they can hide (infront/behind them) look for the river within the river or the seam of the river. Look how the current moves. If more than one current in the area focus on trying to get your fly pattern/nymph into only one current. If it flows unnatural as in one current creating drag - trout will be skittish.