Matching Nymph Patterns to Hatches on the Yough

silfeid

silfeid

I'm fairly new to fly fishing - I've been gradually transitioning away from spin fishing to fly fishing for the past few years, acquiring more gear and knowledge each season. I'm at a stage currently where I will prospect new waters with an UL spinning set-up and if I find fish in decent numbers, I'll return with the fly rod later in the season and see what I can make happen. I imagine in a few years the spinning gear will mostly gather dust, but for now I'm something of a hybrid fisherman, as I imagine many here are. For what it's worth, I'm pretty nearly a C&R puritan - I will keep maybe two fish a year maximum, if they are large enough and caught in waters that are heavily stocked and heavily fished; I will never keep a brook trout regardless of its size or origins.

Anyway, over the past few years, I've acquired a decent assortment of flies, probably forty or fifty patterns of all sorts - dries, nymphs, emergers, streamers, etc. The Yough above and especially below Ohiopyle are my favorite larger waters to fish in SWPA (where I live), so I've been sure to consult some hatch charts etc. and buy dry flies that imitate the typical Yough hatches. What I haven't done, at least not yet, is purchase nymphs or emergers that also match those species of aquatic insects. I'm not really sure why I haven't, to be honest - there just seems to be much less emphasis on this aspect of the "match," and I get the sense that a lot of nymph patterns are general stand-ins for many species.