Lancaster PA Smallmouth

Schaefer406

Schaefer406

Good morning!

I have recently purchased a rod and reel for smallmouth (I wanted a whole different setup from my trout rods). I have a 6wt with a sink tip line, and I have fished many different streams here using patterns such as gamechangers, sculpins, clousers, etc . . . and I have only caught maybe 5 smallmouth in 15 outings. That is horrible considering I am not a beginner angler. I utilize the PAFBC mapping tool to find streams to fish for them. I have fished Mill Creek and the Conestoga in the Lancaster County Park (I didn't even see fish in here last time I went), the Susquehanna near Wrightsville (difficult to wade and hardly any casting room), Pequea Creek (didn't even see a fish here). I am honestly at a loss for words at how I see some of these guys pulling these massive smallies on the fly and I can't even locate them. Quite obviously not asking for spots as I hate when people give away their productive areas, but any tips or guidance on locating them so I can finally put my rod to use would be appreicated.

Good morning!