I'm getting the Salt Water bug

Fred and FI- thanks for the info.

More reading gonna get done soon with the weather turning colder.

Probably the biggest thing for me would be just to practice hauling. The wind sure can make you look foolish not to mention unproductive with the fly rod.

So far to me it seems that the flies were'nt that important yet. I have never fished for bones or anything but does'nt seem saltfish are that picky.

Paul

acristickid wrote:

2. Fly fishing in Saltwater by Lefty

Anyone read/seen them?

Any good?

I'm a noob to saltwater fly fishing and found this book to be a tremendous help in making the transition from fresh to salt. Not necessarily in the sense of specific areas (OBX, NJ surf, etc.), but with an overall understanding of saltwater fishing.

Well worth the $$$ IMO...

Well I second guessed myself because of the wind on fri and decided to do some trout fishing . Boy was I wrong there was 3 full out blitzes at Ibsp on fri of blues and bass right in the exact spot I planned on fishing. I've never been so mad at myself for something fishing related eeerrrrrrrrrrrrr :evil: :evil: :evil: .
my blood was boiling . I had to pound down some Guinness to drown away my sorrows :cry: :cry: :cry: :pint: :pint:

That blows fred.

I am short on cash and invested in the steelheading thing this year, but I'll be talking to you next summer about maybe getting some stuff for the salt. I'd like to get into it.

Jay, not sure what you got fro steel but you may already be set to go. I have used my 9ft8wt for both and that was the plan from the start. You are closer to salt than to steel by a good bit.

9ft 9wt will do the job, but I'd need a line, all terminal tackle, flies, and time. I might still try to get it done on a weekend this fall/winter, but I'd be doing it with minimal research.

I have a switch rod, but 6wt is a bit too light. Love it for steelies though.