fundamental flies

J

jersey_guy

my wife got me the premium fly tying kit from orvis. since i am new to the tying scene what would be some good flies that would be beneficial and good learing flies?

i couldnt have asked for a better gift during this ice storm!!

mark

Any form of caddis, gold ribbed hares ear, adams, pheasant tail nymph, wooley bugger, royal wulff. Google is your friend. Or do what I used to do and just go thru the llbean catalog and find one you like. Then search for a recipe.

Don't know if they still do, but Orvis had fly recipes available online to.