Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 3 4 »

Little Lehigh, Lehigh County 6/10/09

From Glenmoore PA
Fished from 5-7 after work. Water color still off, and not much insect activity on top, although there were several large splashes. Got hooked into three and brought 1 to the net using a #14 FBPT, still working on landing trout on light tippet. The third was a 14" rainbow that I fought for what seemed forever, it had enough of me, and broke my line. Looks like sulphers are

Posted on: 2009/6/11 8:11

Re: Little Lehigh, Lehigh County 6/10/09

From Bozeman
Why the light tippet in off color water? I'd be using 3x.

Posted on: 2009/6/11 10:17

From Glenmoore PA
It was off color but not too murky, plus wouldnt 3x be a little larger for a #14 fly, im kinda new to this. I would think the thicker tippet would give an unnatural drift with a small fly

Posted on: 2009/6/11 15:04

From Monessen, PA
I would suggest using as large a tippet as you can. Add length if you feel it might be increasing drag on the fly. I would use 4X on #12 or bigger, 5X for #14, though if I was expecting bigger fish, I'd use 4X or even 3X anyhow.

Posted on: 2009/6/11 15:15

From Bozeman
In off color conditions, you can usually get away with nymphing with 4x around here. If the water is particularly clear, I will go with 5x. Rarely do I nymph with 6x.

Fishermen around the lehigh valley tend to use very light tippet. This is also common on the tully. I've personally never felt the need to drop below 5x for nymphs, and 6x for dries. I would start with a stronger material, and lighten it up if you feel you should be getting more strikes.

Posted on: 2009/6/11 15:27

From Easton, PA
I agree with you guys... fly-fishing is challenging enough, no reason to tilt the odds towards the fish with spider web tippets.