YOY Smallmouths: Susquehanna River - 2012

F

Fishidiot

The PFBC has come out with the 2012 Young of the Year smallmouth bass survey for 2012. The YOY survey is intended to reflect spawning success of SMBs for that year. The short version is that the North Branch had a good year; the West Branch had a poor year. The main stem was good above Harrisburg but poor below it - at least by the standards of what has been seen in the last decade since the bass crash in the main stem and lower river. All things considered, it was probably about what one would expect. YOY counts can vary a lot by year with depending on weather and water levels.

Survey

Dear Dave,

I know I'm not a scientist or statistician but when I saw that the while the success ratio appeared to be low in the mid Susquehanna at least it appeared to have doubled each year from 2010 to 2012.

But when I looked at the incidence of disease I saw that it also seemed to double as represented by the graphs from 2011 to 2012 what inspiration I had initially vanished.

Like I said I'm not a statistician, but if spawning success doubles each year and disease levels double each year there will probably never be a net growth in the population, at best you will keep a steady level that is relatively sparse in numbers compared to 15 years ago.

Regards,

Tim Murphy :-(

Tim... I'm kind of hoping you're statistician savant.

I know. I know. The rivers just been so dead lately. Kind of hoping I would see a positive post once and a while. I got nothing.

It did look really nice when I drove over it today.

I am a statistician and I agree with Tim...

Tim,
You may be right.....and I would have said you're spot-on five or six years ago.