Night time Bass Fishing

TUrainbow88

TUrainbow88

Hello all,

I am about to fly fish for Bass this year. Its my first time!!! I was wondering, can you fly fish at night for Bass? What is the right fly to use? Any help would be much appreciated!!! Thanks

Absolutely.

I don't fish at night much anymore but when I was younger I hit bass rivers hard with conventional tackle at night. Most of my fish came on surface lures like Jitterbugs. For fly fishing at night I just stick to the usual stuff. There's a widespread belief (which I agree with) that black flies fish best at night. Have some black poppers and streamers. Don't be surprised if, when you're fishing streamers, you get a walleye or two. Rock bass and channel cats hit well at night too.

I agree with Fishidiot. I don't necessarily think you need to go at night thou. Dusk was always most productive for me for hula poppers and jitterbugs. When it got dark, the fishing always seemed to shut down a bit and it became hard to avoid the swooping bats. You'll have a harder time with fly line in doing that!

Dear TU,

I always did better in the early morning and the evening. I found that smallmouth bass pretty much shut down on the rivers I fished once it got dark.

I like to be able to see what I'm doing and where I'm casting so I stick to mornings and evenings. Being on the river when it's shrouded in early morning fog and you can just smell the fish is where it's at for me. I also believe that if you get a cloudy dreary day you can fish all day long and still pick up fish.

I fish mostly foam poppers and clouser minnows, any color as long as it is chartruese works for me too.

Regards,

Tim Murphy :)