How hot is too hot for largemouth?

greenlander

greenlander

As I've mentioned in another thread or two, I'm brand new to largemouth fishing.

That said, I'm wondering if it can get too hot for largemouth. I know that as the sun warms up the water bass will head for deeper water during the day, but can it get so hot during the day that bass will not come to the surface/shallows even in the morning and evening hours?

With 6-7 straight days of 95+ degree, sunny weather hitting SEPA starting today, I'm curious.

I wouldn't worry about it being "too hot" for largemouth. They can live in water above 90F. I think their ideal range is like mid 60s to mid 80s.

Time of day would be more important as they tend to feed more actively in morning and evening... Night fishing for bass during these heat waves can be awesome.

Personally, I've caught bass in brutal heat. In the late 80s we had a drought with temps in the 100s. I used to fish a local lake in a swimming suit to keep cool, and caught many bass in the evening when water temps were in the mid 80s. In fact, my biggest bass ever was a largemouth of 6 pounds caught in Lake Arthur that year.

I doubt there is ever a situation where Largemouth are "too hot" and especially in our northern latitudes... They too gotta eat to live eh...

Greenlander,