Flies for samllies and Carp

P

Panchon74

what flies, paterns or reciepies of flies are good for smallies and carp. Pictures would be helpfull.

Mario

SAMLLIES ? :lol:

Either he is a crappy typer like me or he's been hanging out with your squirrel...

Smallies!!!! Sorry! Sorry! And aside from being a crappy typest, I was also trying to hurry and post.

hay at least I did not mess up on carp, that would have been crap!!! :lol: :p :-x

Anyhow, here is an answer to your question. For smallies, I use a deer hair popper, wooly buggers (mainly black, olive and white), black ghost (streamer) and crayfish. Have caught them on other flies but those are my bass flies when fishing for them.

Carp I use nymphs, wooly buggers and crayfish.

This is my first year fly fishing, but this summer I have caught several bass with foam poppers (they're easier for me to cast on a lighter leader than the heavier poppers), woolly buggers, minnow imitations, and terrestrials. The poppers are the most fun to me.

Chartreuse over white, olive over white clousers, foam poppers, black wooly buggers, and crayfish patterns in orange/brown have been best for me. If I had only one fly-charteuse over white clouser.

I like using pretty much everything thats been said. But crystal buggers are my very very favorite for smallies.

I've caught 3 carp ever on my fly rod and 2 were on dries during a cahill hatch and one was on a black wooly bugger. The dry fly ones I just crept up on them made about a 20-30 foot cast and let it drift right too them. With this question its making me want to go back after carp the next time on the susky. I found a spot the other week with more carp then I've ever seen in a 200 yard stretch with a lot of them rising during a late evening hatch.