Small Stream Technique

T

tmk1086

I will start this post the same way I've started my other ones...I'm new to fly fishing. In my area I have mostly small streams (about 10-12 feet average width) to fish at. They are mostly shallow with a few deep pockets of 2-4 feet in depth. I was wondering if there is a preferred method to fishing these type of streams (flies, where to cast, where to stand, etc.). I realize that the answer to my own question might just be to try different things and see what works but I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions. Thanks.

I think most of the guys will tell you the same things but to start with most of what you'll hear is ...stay low, cast upstream, wear camo or other natural colors, fish the pools but don't pass up even small riffles. Are you talking wild streams or just small?

This will sound silly, perhaps, but try to imagine you are 2 feet tall and the stream is about 3 times as large. Then, just fish it like you would the larger stream. The thing that takes the most getting used to is that fish in small streams will live in very shallow water, so just because a stream section averages a depth of 12 inches, don't walk by. Look for the same kind of features you would look for in the stream 3 times as large-- that rock as big as a softball in the small creek plays the same role as the boulder in the large stream....

Many of the streams do contain wild trout and are stocked. Although it may not seem like it, the stuff you guys are saying is very helpful for me to understand how to approach these streams, I greatly appreciate any input.

tmk,
Just reinforcement of the low and low approach. I fish streams like you describe a lot and mostly from my knees. Had to laugh a bit over JackM's reasonable comment, as I go about it exactly the opposite. I look at a large stream as lots of small streams braided together. Interestingly, I usually find fish at the intersection of the braids. :-D
Coughlin