Old rookie looking for tips

B

buckbarrett

I've been flyfishing for 30 years. I live in Ohio and had never caught a trout. I was a bit of an oddity. People would want to come and watch me, take pictures, laugh, and generally see what I was doing. I've flyfished in CA, N. Car., FLA, NYC, N. Mex and others I forget. I took some tying lessons and tied flies that I didnt even know what they were for. I never caught a trout until this year when my buddie talked me into buying a PA lisence. Now I've travelled around in western PA and have seen the most beautiful streams there are and am totally hooked. I'll never buy another OH lisence. And I've found people like me on this forum. My buddie doesnt fly fish, so he cant really help with info. I created my own kind of Muddler Minnow and have caught trout, perch, smallies, northerns, bluegills, but mostly bass, which is what I'm used to in OH, but still havent learned how to catch brooks, and could still use a little help with all the trout. I caught my first bow on a Mickey Finn I tied, on my birthday! You people should be proud of your beautiful, rivers and streams, I am honored to be able to come here and fish with people that think like me, and am open for any advice.

Buck,
You should hit one of the many brook trout streams PA has to offer. I usually just use a size 16 tan caddis. The brook trout love them. Stay low and work your way upstream. Brookies are very spooky.

Troy

my advice....until u get more used to brookie fishing:

1.stealth, stay low,low and lower. crawl, kneel and limbo your way to the stream.

2. work your way upstream.* brookies like sitting at the end of pools to feed so becareful