Knot for fly-to-bend

troutpoop

troutpoop

I've been using an improved clinch for tying my 2nd fly to the bend of my first. Is anyone else using a different knot that may be faster or more efficient for this purpose. The knot often slips off the bend when I'm tying and I have to start over. Not a big deal but just wondering if there is a better knot for it.

Thats what i do but im not an expert im interested to hear what others do as well
adam

I use a Trilene Knot (which is a type of clinch knot). I set my finger on the outside of the bend. Make my 2 wraps around the hook and my finger and the wind and finish the knot. I have no issues with the line slipping off the bend that way while I'm tying.

Though I don't often fish this kind of rig, I just tie a clinch knot (not an improved clinch) to my finger, slide it off while holding the tag and standing end together, and transfer it to the hook bend. Then just pull the standing end to tighten the knot.

It helps if the tag end is kinda long, so it doesn't slip through the loop as you tighten it.

Works for me...

I used to tie off the bend, but last year someone showed me that he ties the dropper from the eye of the top fly. Since then, I have used this set up and I like it. Still use the improved clinch knot on all flies.

if I am nymphing I use a tippet ring and tie two pieces of tippet to the ring......this would be akin to leaving a long tag end on a blood knot or surgeons knot. I find it allows me to change the top fly much more often.

If I am going dry dropper then it is always inline....I have tried tieing off the eye but I find that line will fowl my hackle/deer hair/cdc or whatever I have for the wing of my dry and cause it to float ugly....this might actually look better to trout but I can't stand it....so long story short I use improved clinch knot off the bend but I pinch the start of the knot and hook of the dry between my fore finger and thumb and tie the rest with my other hand.