Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 2 (3) 4 5 »

Re: Euro- Czech nymphing my new favorite

From Cleona, Pa
This method is deadly!

I've been using it for 3+ years and once you figure it out lookout. I use the straight sighter and curly sighter. And it is ultimately dependent on water types. I almost always catch fish. It's really shines on places like spring creek, BFC, and Penns. The thing with this method is you are in contant with you flies and it's easier to detect strikes, where as indi fishing there is a delay in the noticed dip in the indi. I still use indi style when the tight line is less than optimal, for example a long deep slow pool. And times where the fish want a different presentation. I've tried this on fish and drifted it by them with no interest, swithced to a dry droppper and first cast, fish.

I'll use this method for a long time to come. I use a 2&4 wt 10' ESN

Posted on: 2013/1/22 14:42

From Ohio
Mike,

Take a look at George Daniel's nymping leader or try a Harvey slack leader and use colored mono (gold stren or hi vis yellow) for the 0x. You can taper down to 5x on the Harvey leader and use fluorocarbon tippet for the parts of the leader that are below the sighter (colored mono). I've used both of these leaders and liked them. The Harvey leader seems to work better with a 9' rod and George's leader better with a 10' rod. George's book has a handful of other leader formulas if you want to try something different.

George Daniel Leader

Modified Harvey Slack leader Formula for Nymphing
Diameter # Test X Rating Type of Mono Length
.017 20 LB. - 10"
.015 15 LB. - 18"
.013 12 LB. - 18"
.010 8 LB. 1x - 18"
.009 6 LB. 2x - 12"
.008 5 LB. 3x - 18"
.007 4 LB. 4x - 18-24"

Posted on: 2013/1/22 14:51

From Berks County