Need a book for vacation...not much time though

J

joseywales

I am vacationing with extended family as well next week. We all seem to agree that we pretty much don't want to do a damn thing all week! I'm going to fish some flounder with my children, but other than that, just relax and maybe read a bit. I am new to fly fishing. Done it a few times, just getting back into it. My brother is very experienced and well read on the subject with many years under his belt, so I'll ask this question of him as well.

I have read Trout Bum and thoroughly enjoyed it. Even took it to jury duty a week or so ago and enjoyed it a second time. I also have Pocketguide to PA Hatches Merck/Weamer, but that's more of a streamside book (would love to know if they have a paperback for that purpose).

I might tie a bit, but don't really want a book on that just yet. Either an educational book on fly fishing, or other non-fiction.

So any other good reads in fly fishing? I'm considering: "I've never met an idiot on the river..." By Henry Winkler.

Try " Angler Management : The Day I Died While Fly Fishing & Other Stories" by Jack Ohman. Its a fun read and I'll guarantee you'll find a chapter that you'll say, "Yup, thats me."

Anything by John Gierach is going to be entertaining if you're looking for light fly fishing reading. I'd also recommend Vanishing Trout by Lose if you can get a copy, maybe thru library loan. There's a thread a few threads down on this well done book about trout fishing in PA back in the 20s.

A Good Life Wasted by Dave Ames. Light reading an fun.

A 40 page, comic book style writing called: The Curtis Creek Manifesto – By Sheridan Anderson has been recommended. Any thoughts on that?