Zebras

J

JohnPowers

No stream names necessary but tell me. In SEPA when why do you fish the zebra midge? Tricos, red quills, sulphers, gray ghosts I get it. But i now need to get hip. Do you fish the zebra midge when you see midges in the air? Do you fish them just on the theory that there's always something wriggling in the film? Do you fish them on the dropper?

I fish them as a dropper to a larger nymph almost exclusively during the fall and winter. Primarily becuase I've read that there are more midge nymphs in the water than anything else during that time of year. I'm no expert but I catch more fish on the midge than any other fly when the water is cold. Plus it's easy to tie.

With near the bottom when nothing else is hatching. And mostly in the winter. That's the only fly I have caught fish on this year so far.

I fished zebra midges on a limestoner all year last year and caught fish with them each trip......if nothing is hatching it is one of my go to flies (along with scuds and pt)....I think there are so many midges available that they get eaten year round....i will usually dead drift them through pocket water, runs, or any likely holding area and I usually let them swing like a wet fly after the normal drift. I'll do this especially if they are hatching because I think they look like an insect swimming to the surface trying to hatch.

I think a lot of fly fishers, especially new ones, catch that fish at the end of a drift when the leader is dragged back to the surface and don't understand that the drag and fly coming towards the surface looks like a nymph swimming to the surface to emerge. Thats when the nymph is most vulnerable and an easy meal. I've done this on spring creek right behind other anglers that caught nothing through the same stretch.