Trip out west

F

Fishinmagician

Hi all,
I am trying to plan a trip out west this summer with a good friend, to do some fly fishing. He is in the beginner to maybe intermediate stage. Not that I'm an expert by any means. I want this to be one for the books, Bucket list kind of stuff ! So my question is , if you were planning a trip out to the western U.S to fly fish the month of August(looking like the last 2 weeks) do to work restraints. Where would you go, I was in Montana in 1990 and fly fished the Madison, Yellowstone and Gallitan. I am currently looking at the Snake River, but am open to all your knowedge. As well as stories from the best places you have fished out there, and times of year.
Many Thanks in Advance,
Don

If you don't mind hiking try Slough creek in Yellowstone. I could spend 2 months fishing anything in Yellowstone. I fished Slough the 2 week of august 2 years ago and it was amazing. Caught to many cutts to count (20 plus Inches)on big hoppers. The beginning of the second meadow had trout lined up head to tail for maybe 50 yards you just had to fish right up the line. I only had two days to fIsh on that trIp and I fell In love wIth slough creek.You do have to watch where you go in Yellowstone when I went the fire hole and gibbons were closed due to water temp.

I would also recommend Yellowstone

Snake as in Henrys fork? I saw a show where they floated and were smashing giants on nymphs / streamers from the boat. I'd go to the ranch and pull my hair out from constant refusals.

Snake River is a good choice, and it's cheeper to get to, rent cars, and accommodations. Especially if you fly into Idaho Falls. I'd stay away from the western side of Yellowstone, 1 because you've been there and 2 tourists.
If you go to the Snake R. don't over look the Henry's Fork. It's got big bows and Cutts. Cutts are above Henry's Fork Lake, bows are below.