The Mother of All Fly Catalogs

fadeaway263

fadeaway263

I Got mine. I know most of you youngins tie your own but the eyes and hands at 60 are only good for tying flys with clothes line.

"And I feel much the same way looking through The Fly Shop Catalog. Only now, as a magazine editor, I'm actually amazed and envious when a 180-page print product comes to me in the mail. This catalog is an artifact, worthy of prime placement on the commodes of respectable fishing cabins from coast to coast."

http://www.fieldandstream.com/blogs/fishing/2011/02/mother-all-fly-catalogs

I don't tie. I spend a ton of money at that site and I never got a catalog. I'd like a catalog. Complete BS imo.

Guess they know what there doing with their marketing but I don't think I fit into anyones marketing strat plans.

When I get a catalogue the go straight into the recycling bin- seems like a colossal waste to me but again I assume they know what there doing with this strategy.

People are fascinated with gear and new and improved. I did cycle through a decent amount of gear but have settled on setups and rods etc... They are 5 plus years old and work perfect and never feel the need to look for more now.

JasonS wrote:
I don't tie. I spend a ton of money at that site and I never got a catalog. I'd like a catalog. Complete BS imo.

Go to the Fly Shop web page and there is a button to click on to get the catalog mailed to you.

Jason,

Do you frequent TheFlySHOP as Fade referenced or TheFlySTOP. TheFlySTOP doen't have a catalog

The Fly Shop catalog and Feather-craft catalog are my favorites. I order a lot more from FC and always online but sometimes its easier to find something in the catalog.

I got the Fly Shop catalog on Saturday. I like browsing through it, especially on a crappy day off. Their cheap rod looks nice; $129 and you get an extra tip and a rod/reel case instead of a tube.

Their cheap rod looks nice; $129 and you get an extra tip and a rod/reel case instead of a tube.