Spawning trout

afishinado

afishinado

Staff member
Link below to a great article about spawning trout, written by Steve Swensky of Fly Fishers Paradise in State College.

http://flyfishersparadise.com/learning-center/to-fish-or-not-to-fish

Nice article. Thanks for this one.

Thanks for posting this...
I was having this conversation this weekend with non-members. I will be forwarding it.

Typically don't bother them from mid Oct to mid December. It's the polite thing to do .....plus......you want them to make more young uns.

The Nature Boy wrote:

Typically don't bother them from mid Oct to mid December. It's the polite thing to do .....plus......you want them to make more young uns.
Only my 2nd season fishin so I'm still new to this. Should I not be fishing from now until Dec 15th-ish?

Fall fishing is generally good fishing. I just stay away from the redds if I see them. I haven't seen any yet this year although I've mostly been nymphing pools since the water is low and clear. Even the riffles aren't producing like they should for the conditions.

There is still some brown trout spawning activity going on in the Cumberland Valley this week. This may persist another week or so.

[/quote]
Stagger_Lee wrote:
Only my 2nd season fishin so I'm still new to this. Should I not be fishing from now until Dec 15th-ish? [/quote]

It's up to you and is a matter of personal ethics.