New to steelheading and need help

W

Wmass

So this is my first year fishing for steelhead in Ohio and I feel lost. I usually fish the chagrin or rocky rivers. I have tried swinging large streamers and eggs, as well as bottom bouncing eggs and nymph. I had one hook up in the fall and that's it. Needs to know some good techniques and good rigs? Also what size patterns to use?

Are you normally successful at nymphing for trout?? If so, same technique. Make sure you have a good drag free drift and drift your flies right along the bottom.

Assuming you have the technique down, cover water. Unlike PA, most of the time you won't be able to see the fish unless it is super low and clear or they're spawning. If you've fished a hole/run for a while and haven't gotten any hits on different types of flies, move. There may be no fish in the entire hole. The next day it could be stacked though.

As for flies and sizes, my main sizes are usually 12 and 14. Generic nymphs( I like beadheads) and eggs(glo bugs, sucker spawn, etc.). I like smaller streamers in size 10 too for nymphing. Once you've found fish they really aren't picky, you just gotta have that drag free drift. I don't really have much experience "swinging" streamers for steel, except for a tad bit on the PA tribs but it was mostly just letting my fly swing at the end of a drift, nothing like the OH tribs. If you cover water I'm sure you'll eventually swing one up.