New to Forum. Hello Everyone!

C

Chris2P

Hello everyone!

I found this website about a month ago and I've been reading the forums every spare minute in my day. What a great bunch of fisherman and a wealth of information! I have not been fly fishing for trout that much over the past 10 years but I have recently rediscovered my old passion (waterfowling and saltwater fishing pulled me away for a decade:)). I starting fly fishing back in the early 90's and I remember the first day I walked into an Orvis store. I was bait fishing for trout that morning using juicey fresh worms that usually produce my limit. But on that day all the fish were on top of the water eating bugs! I was a total newbie and asked the guy next to me what the heck was going on, never saw fish do "that" before. He told me that's what trout eat and if I wanted to catch them now (it was late May) I would need a fly rod.LOL So off I went to the Orvis store in center city Philadelphia. After a hefty credit card bill of fly fishing stuff ( I didnt even have waders back then) I left that store armed to the gills to get my limit. And that glorious month I was catching trout like crazy. Back then was pre - internet so all my information came from that Orvis store. And you know how it goes: verbal information to purchasing books, to taking fly casting lessons to buying the fly tying kit after the horror of loosing 30 bucks worth of flies on the stream caused by one caffeine jitter and shake at the wrong time:) And then spending money on the genetic hackle after outgrowing the kit material in one month. Oh yeah and the fly tying lessons! Then learning about conservation and trying to explain to the wife that I'm now "releasing" my fish despite blowing a grand on fishing gear! LOL That first year of fly fishing was transformational, I never had such a strong passion before and that passion just grew. It feels really great to come back to trout fishing. And one of my favorite streams is Valley Creek in Valley