ID'ing fish in the water

Skillbillie

Skillbillie

Hello all,

I am pretty new to fly fishing, but have caught the addiction. I have recently fished Ridley Creek and Spring Creek (Bellefonte area) and had some mild success. The one main problem I am having is identifying which fish I am seeing in the water. How do you determine what is a sucker or creek chub from what is a trout? I have a good pair of polarized glasses, but I feel I am wasting some of my time trying to catch the wrong species.

It seems most suckers swim in schools, but I have read that some larges browns will also swim in a similar school. Do you have any tips to share that would help me identify what fish I am looking at?

Any tips will be appreciated, thanks in advance.

Hmm. Specifically identifying trout from suckers is pretty easy once you observe each species for a bit. Suckers tend to hug the bottom in slow moving runs/pools. They are almost always in pods/schools in numerous numbers. Dont let this discourage you from fishing these areas though! I have caught very nice trout out of those big schools of suckers on spring creek. This is especially the case when the suckers spawn and the trout stage behind them. I would say the main difference in the two fish is body shape. A sucker is thicker around the head and shoulders and tapers off towards the tail. A trout will taper from the middle to the nose and from the middle to the tail. I hope that makes some sense. The fins differ as well.

Right now the water is super clear on spring. I was there 2-3 weeks ago. Sit and watch the fish. I was able to count spots on the browns from 15-20' away when i was there. Under these conditions, it becomes quite clear which is which. Suckers do not have stripes or spots.

Suckers have a broader head, usually the body tapers back from the head, you can usually see their mouth, and they stay down in the water column.