Help with a High School Fly Fishing program...

drews

drews

Good morning PAFF members. My name is Scott Andrews and I am a teacher at Coudersport High School in Potter County... A colleague of mine and I are trying to start a fly tying/fishing club at our high school... we have about 20 members thus far that are excited about learning how to tie and learning how to fly fish, the issue is that many of these students have no equipment to do either... My colleague and I have brought in numerous items for both tying and fishing, but were honestly a little unprepared for just how little equipment these guys have. We have 3 members that are currently enrolled in a class sponsored by our TU chapter where they are learning to tie one night a week and it has done nothing but fuel the fire... we were recently approved to be able to take our members on a trip this spring (during school I might add...all the better for them) to fish a few of our local streams... that being said the ultimate goal is to get enough equipment and materials together to tie up enough flies to last us a day on the water... we have had a couple reals and a little material donated so far, but not enough to get these students to where we need to be.... thus the reason for the post...