First Day and dont kno wat to do!!!

H

hueyfree123

Today was my first day fishing for trout... Actually its my first time fishing. I bought the wrong line (8 lb) because everyone is telling me I need 2 or 4 lb... Probly why I didnt catch anything.

Anyway tomorrow Im gonna be buying 2 lb test line and putting it on a spinning reel (Ugly Stik). I use Trout Magnets for bait but the fish dont seem to be biting and I found a "secret spot" where they put fish
in park and still didnt catch anything. In this spot the water was only 1 ft deep and you could see the fish without any problem cause the water is so clear.

When I go back to one of the general holes that everyone knows about, we all catch nothing... Then all of a sudden, up walks some guy with a fly fishing rod and he catches 6 trout in about 20 min. He was using fly bait, bobber, fluorocarbon leader and everyone using a spinner reel caught nothing.

As a newbie, Im wondering does the setup really matter or was it just the bait he was using?

Fly rods cast a fly which represents an insect that might be hatching or bugs in a nymph stage.
Try using an Al's goldfish or trout rooster tail on your spin rod