Nymph-O-Maniac

20120617_214533.jpg

20120617_214541.jpg

20120617_214551.jpg

20120617_214605.jpg

20120617_214611.jpg

Wild guess.....ISO spinner

Hex

+1 on the Hex. Here is one I pulled off of a gas pump at the Sheetz at Clarks Ferry last week.

Attachments

• HEX.jpg
    HEX.jpg
    20 KB · Views: 4
Hex. Known from coming off of big rivers, but have been seen in smaller systems.

I believe they're the biggest mayfly in PA.

The yellow hex is a HUGE fly (close to 4” long from front of legs to ends of tails). I’ve been fishing a stream with an incredible hex hatch for the last 35 years (there was a great hex hatch last Friday night) and I tie my hex imitations on a size 8 and 10 4x long streamer hooks.

They are that big.

Front claspers to end of tail was as long as a cigarette

That little mayfly in the background looks scared!

Nymph-O-Maniac wrote:

Claspers are on the rear of the abdomen (near tail) on the underside of the male spinner, used for mating. Hooking up!

Who knew the contemporary term for having sex in the younger generations vocabulary came from mayflys?

The front legs are called forelegs.

Cigarettes are called cancer sticks or coffin nails. Not to be confused with coffin flys.

FACT: Clouds of hex mayflies can sometimes be seen on radar. Dem bugs 'r right big!

Nympho please give us a date and a stream...

Hex spinner.

Maurice wrote:
Nymph-O-Maniac wrote:

Claspers are on the rear of the abdomen (near tail) on the underside of the male spinner, used for mating. Hooking up!

Who knew the contemporary term for having sex in the younger generations vocabulary came from mayflys?

The front legs are called forelegs.

Cigarettes are called cancer sticks or coffin nails. Not to be confused with coffin flys.

I wasn't aware of the techinicl terms. Thank you. Lol on the cig thing also.

albatross wrote:
Nympho please give us a date and a stream...

No stream. I live in Dauphin.

June 17th around Midnight.