Great Brown Autumn Sedge

BradFromPotter

BradFromPotter

While packing the 4Runner to head down to Assateague to camp & fish for the next week,this big guy was resting on the 4Runner. Have seen several the last couple of days on the windows at home.
7990111615_96a3d7c90d_o.jpg

turned back porch light on this morning and they were every where..

Will they be around for a while? Like Oct 7 thru 12?

What size are these? Is this whats refereed to as an eastern october caddis?

IT one of the fall caddis. When I was up 2 weeks ago the caddis hatching were a # 12 and a # 16. The trout were only taking them with a trailing shuck.

Could someone post a fly pattern that shows an adult caddis with trailing shuck? (Sorry I'm new to this!)

Typically its just an Elk Hair Caddis with a short clump of z-lon attached at the bend.

An easy trick to create them on the stream is to cut a small piece of nylon from a womans stocking and hang it off the hook bend.

But first ask before cutting them off her. It is only proper. :-D

Sipe, you should ask this in the fly tying or beginner forum. you will get more responses.

Bumpy bump. Won't be long until these guy start showing up.

My guess would be stenophylax (sp??) or cinnamon sedge. They are a big bug that begins as a stick caddis, but I've never seen enough togather at one time to bring on much of a concerted rise to them.

I believe it's Pycnopsyche guttifer. They are the ones most commonly referred to as great brown Autumn sedges. However, I couldn't find much info on Stenophylax.

Which central Pa streams have these?

BillPress wrote:
My guess would be stenophylax (sp??) or cinnamon sedge. They are a big bug that begins as a stick caddis, but I've never seen enough togather at one time to bring on much of a concerted rise to them.