Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: Selecting a rod to build

From Ohio
Well heres a rundown of the ones i have built:

If you are looking for something with a more moderate action for roll casting yet having some backbone for weighted rigs and streamers I'd say the g loomis gl3 and the pac bay rainforest IM7 both fit that bill. There was an article in the last issue of rodmaker that made an argument that more full flexing rods are more senistive....which would be important for nymphing/streamer work.

The RX6 is fast and heavy IMO.....I hate it.
The G. Loomis IMX is fast and light.....I like it but it wouldn't roll cast the best.

I have a cabelas traditional also.....they have a more moderate action but I find them a bit noodly in the higher weights.

I have no personal experience with the fenwicks, cabelas IM7 (very intrigued by this one), cabelas Sli, or american tackle rods.

Also, they sell TFO blanks and component kits which you could check out. The TFO Pro might fit the bill too.

My comment about "going cheap" was more alluding to the fact that most "name brand" rod manufacturers inflate the price of their blanks to protect their rod prices. I feel you can get a lot more rod for the money if you go with OEM manufacturers like Batson and Pac-Bay.

Your first rod will definitely be fishable and if you are detail oriented and take your time and don't mind redoing some wraps will likely end up as good as a foctory rod.

Personally it took me about 5 rods before I felt I had my technique down to where I was happy.

Best of luck,

Bill

Posted on: 2007/3/9 7:53

From Philadelphia
Big John,