scott s4 or sage vxp

Fishman12992

Fishman12992

Which would be better suited for pa streams like oil creek the s4 or vxp.. I already own a vxp in a 7wt for steelheading but I'm looking for a good 4wt to lay down a nice small dry presentation. I have no experience with the scott but, I can get one cheaper then the vxp. Any input or suggestions would be much appreciated thanks, Doug.

If I had to choose one of those models....VXP. Given a wider range of rods, I'd bet neither would make many people's lists of 4 weight weapons. The s4 is basically a 5 weight. Judging from your selections, I'll guess you are in the $400-$500 range. You may want to consider a St Croix Elite, Hardy Zenith on clearance, Grey's XF2 or one of the models from Loop. All of those are in the $300-$450 range. Don't overlook the Winston Passport or GVX models either. I think any one of those would be more suited to presentation.

According to the 2012 4 weight shootout…….

Hardy Zenith Can be found on closeout for $400 - $500
Sage TXL $600+
Winston BIIIx $700+
Sage One $700+
Beulah Platinum

While at the Somerset show, I casted the Beulah Platinum 884-4. I really was blown away by that rod. It was one of the nicest casting rods that I have ever cast at any price range. It loaded really well, could cast far if needed, but would lay down that yarn practice fly with great delicacy. They run $395 and have great function from what I have seen and really nice cosmetics to boot! Beulah is more known for 2 handed rods, but the 4 weight I casted was awesome. If I were going to get a 4 weight for me, it would either be a Scott G2 (more expensive) or that Beulah at this point.

I have not tried the scott but I did build a VXP from a kit for a customer and he loves it. wish I could help you with the rest. I believe "Heberly" has a hardy zenith and could offer insight on it if he sees this