New to the Sport

C

CAMBYSES

Hello all,

I am new to the sport of fly fishing and new to the forum, so let me start by saying hello and thanking all of you for posting some very good info. I have been checking out the forum for a few weeks now.

I have a few questions: I have been a very dedicated fisherman for more than 10 years. Mainly bass, but I just recently moved back to delaware county and would like to try fly fishing for trout and small mouth. I will be mainly fishing Ridley and chester creek, The brandywine, and Marsh Creek on my float.

1. What is a good "Starter" rod? I know this is a loaded question but I would prefer to start out on something cheap like in the $100 range for rod and reel.

2. Will I be able to use the same rod on both trout and bass?

3. Are there any good fly shops in or around delaware county? I am in Lansdowne

Thanks and I am sorry if these have been posted before. I serached for the rod question but I didnt find anything and the other questions came to me as I wrote this.

Thanks again

Bob

Just about all the rod makers have rods in the $100 range. I have a Cortland 9' 6 wt that me $95. Also try Cabellas, Bass Pro Shop or any of the others.

My 6 wt is used for everything. A bit heavy for bluegill and a bit light for the bigger steelhead, but it does the job.

Can't help with fly shops in your area, since I'm at the other end of the state.

Hope this helps.

Bob:

The Sporting Gentleman is just a short drive down Baltimore Pike to Media. It is a excellent fly shop with a wealth of experience available. You may be hard pressed to find a $100 outfit there but I'm not sure you want to go that route.