Need new boots- felt or not?

P

paflyfisherman

I need to replace my worn out felt wading boots. I'm not sure if I should buy another set with felt ( I believe safer wading ) or the new rubber soles which (supposedly) are better for the environment. Also, any recent news regarding Pa, NY or NJ banning felt. Your opinions will be appreciated.

Ditch the felt and just stud the rubber soled boots. Just as safe and not a giant sponge perfectly suited to spreading didymo.

I've been using boots without felt for 2 years with good success. Studs and wading staff are helpful options to assist wading. I don't feel unstable and think the rubber soles are way better than they used to be.

Gotta say go with studded soles much better all around especially on packed muddy stream sides. Swithched from felt a few years back and much more confident in the studs. If your looking for a good boot simms is my favorite after trying both them and korkers.

Boots with studs and a wading staff get my vote.

Vibram rubber soles and studs. Rubber doesn't collect snow, is better in the mud, and won't spread didymo. As long as you have studs, you'll be fine. Don't try rubber soles without studs, trust me I learned the hard way.

I'll agree with all of the above!

X2 with all above. My Simms Riversheds are awesome. Especially if you do alot of hiking with your fishing.

Let me just say, I JUST made the switch from felt to studded. I did it because I needed new wading boots. I love the studs. I loved felt too, but I feel as if the studs are more diverse. I feel much more secure when I'm in the woods, hiking in, climbing over bolders and rocks and tree roots and things like that than I did in felt sole boots. Also, although it didn't snow a lot this winter, I managed to go fishing during both snow storms. The one in October particularly, I was getting huge amounts of snow on my felt boots. It was annoying and exhausting. I look forward to next winter not having that problem.