Help Upgrading Gear

fishingkidPA

fishingkidPA

Well i am now hooked on fly fishing and by next spring i want to have a quality set up. Right now i have a 8' 5/6 wt. Is that a good wt. to stick with? should i look for a longer rod too? My budget is about $200-$225. i also need a reel ( should i go with a combo?)Is that enough for a good outfit? Since im new to fly fishing i barely know any of the big name fly fishing brands. If you guys could suggest something within my price range it would be appreciated. thanks in advance!

Can't go wrong with St. Croix.

(BTW, everybody has their favorite brands, and are going to recomend them.....oh, I have 4 St. Croix rods)

Dear fishingkid,

You can definitely put a nice rod and reel combo together for $ 200.00 - 225.00.

A 5/6 weight combo is ideal for most of the trout fishing you'll find in PA. There will probably come a time when you want something lighter for mostly dry fly fishing but for right now you are solidly in the game with the rig you have.

A 9 foot rod is a little nicer rod to nymph with because it allows you to high stick and keep more line of the water easily and the extra length makes it easier to mend the line to reduce drag on your drifts.

There are a lot of nice rods out there. St. Croix, Redington, and TFO all have rods in your price range or $ 100.00 - $ 150.00. Your Pflueger reel will be catching trout for years to come but if you want to upgrade there are many reels available for under $ 100.00.

Save your money up and got visit a fly shop when you have all the cash in hand. If you buy a good combo now and take care of it you'll be able to fish with it 30 or 40 years from now no problem.

Regards,

Tim Murphy :)

I'll second MKern's suggestion. for the money, St Croix is one of the best rods out there IMO. I have a 6wt and 8 wt legend ultra (out of your budget, I know). I fished briefly with a 5wt and 4wt of the same type. I like them and so does a buddy.