Beginning Flyfisherman needs rod

T

TroutBuster

Hey guys,
I'm a veteran trout fisherman, but new to fly fishing... I wanna get setup and try it out this spring. What kind of rod, reel and line should I get? Can I get an outfit that would work for both trout and steelhead? I want to get something better than a Walmart special, but not spend an arm and a leg right away either. Thanks!

TroutBuster wrote:
Can I get an outfit that would work for both trout and steelhead?

I'd have to say "NO". Not that it isn't possible, but you did say you are new to fly fishing. Most of the trout waters I fish (NEPA) using a steelhead rod would flick the poor trout out of the water if I could find it sensitive enough to feel them hit and fishing steelhead using my trout rod would send me and my rod home with our tails between our legs. Pick a fish to target first, them ask the question again.

Hmm, well, welcome to our sport. I grew up a bait/lure guy. It'll take you a few years to get back to catching as many as you did before, but the ceiling is higher, and you end up learning a lot more about the streams and fish along the way.

Words of advice: First take a casting lesson, it'll speed the learning curve and give you a base to go on. Then buy. And while good deals on good equipment can be found at Cabelas, as a beginner I strongly recommend going to a good local shop. They'll help you out more with choosing whats best for you, help you get a balanced outfit, etc. Never buy a rod without test casting several first. Its not uncommon to end up liking the cheaper one, especially for a beginner, as slower rods are generally cheaper and more forgiving for a not so perfect casting stroke.