Anyone ever find a great deal at a yard sale on FF gear?

bigslackwater

bigslackwater

Would like to hear about the hidden treasures you have found at yard sales. I don't stop at many because I've never had any luck finding any great deals. Being a musician, I've always wanted to find a hidden gem for cheap, but I think everyone knows that instruments can be worth something, so they do their homework...but what about fishing gear?? It seems like there could be some real nice stuff out there just sitting in the corner of someone's garage. Last saturday I found myself stopping at 4 yard sales on the way home from work. All I found was an old tackle box with some rusty eagle claw hooks and some spinners...What have you found?

I was driving through Bellefont one day a year or two ago and they were having a community yard sale. We didnt stop but I saw several yards with fly rods poking up out of the clutter.

Not a 5 dollar item but I picked up an LRH Hardy Lightweight from Craigs list in real nice shape for less than half of a new one. Don't do many yard sales , never seem to find anything.

A guy at a yard sale down the street gave me about $150 dollars worth of fly tying stuff for free

abel tr1
orvis battenkill 7/8
extra spool
reddinton rod of some sorts
st croix rod of some sorts

$150 for all

thanks craigslist

1915 hardy fly rod, including original and sought after bamboo case.

Bought a "crappy old" Herndon bamboo rod at a yard sale once: priced at $100. Per the then current owner, 'not as good as fiberglass nor that fancy graphite'. I clearly explained what it was probably worth, but no dice.

I gave him $300 and called it a day. I guess I'm a bad man.

An Orvis BBSIII for 40 bucks.
Nothing too much other than that.
I'd like to stumble across a nice glass rod one day though..