advantages of leader and tippet over straight mono?

K

King-Fisher

I have been flyfishing off and on for a few years now and am looking to upgrade my outfit. I learned on a 7wt. and have been using it ever since on medium sized trout streams. I think its a bit overkill and am purchasing a 5wt soon. I always use straight 4lb mono as my leader and I do alright. My question is what advantage would I have using traditional leader and tippet material over my leftover ultra-light line?

The leader, whether it's tappered or decreasing-in-size sections, transfers energy from your fly line to the fly a lot better.

Of course throwing 4lb. with a 7 wt. the energy is going to flow anyway. :)

I think it depends on what type of fishing you do. A tapered leader will cast nicer, and I like to tie my own because it adds the advantage of being able to alter it as you need. When you need distance, accuracy, or to throw a tight loop to avoid vegetation, you want a tapered leader. It just turns over so much nicer.

But in some situations I do use a flat leader, essentially all tippet like yours. The lighter leader material cuts water and reduces drag, giving you less drag and better feel for tight line nymphing or even swinging wets. It does force you to open your cast, but if there's no brush, you don't need maximum distance, and perfect accuracy doesn't matter, well, then its an advantage.

I've also read that in a lot of saltwater applications guys use straight leaders.