Whats the best size for nymphs and woolly's

jwatts

jwatts

I am getting ready to tie a few nymphs ( caddis nymphs,pheasant tail nymphs, scuds) for some of the local trout streams in NePa. What are the most popular size nymph/scud hook I should use? Also what size do most of you fish woolly buggers? I am fairly new to this and I don't want to tie a bunch of off the wall sizes that I wont use. Thank you for your time

Kinda depends on what you plan on doing, but for P-tails, Suds and caddis size 16 is a good place to start. I would recommend tying some waltz worms in size 14 as they require minimal tying skill, only use one material, and catch fish anywhere in the country. For the buggers size 10 is solid.

For nymphs I use mostly 14,16,18 2xl,1xl, and standard length more then anything. If you're gunna tie beadheads definetly get 1xl or 2xl hooks. For buggers sz12 2xl up to 6 or 8 4xl is what I use. But like In the mend said it depends on what you are doing, where you are going, time of year, etc.

Daichii 1560 size 16 for nymphs.

size of nymphs depends on whats in the streams you fish. turn over some rocks and see what lives on them

size 8-20 should work for nymphs

woolys in size 8-10-12

NePa should be 10-16 nymphs for mayflies and caddis
stones 6-16
buggers 4-10
that's if you are fishing from Northampton up to Wayne county

jwatts wrote:
I am getting ready to tie a few nymphs ( caddis nymphs,pheasant tail nymphs, scuds) for some of the local trout streams in NePa. What are the most popular size nymph/scud hook I should use? Also what size do most of you fish woolly buggers? I am fairly new to this and I don't want to tie a bunch of off the wall sizes that I wont use. Thank you for your time