Vises

troutmagnet

troutmagnet

i no this question has bein brought up many of times, but i am looking to get a decent vise to start out tying flies, and would like to work down to sixe 20 hooks, i dont want to spend 150 bucks for a vise, thanks

check out the Anvil vises. $100 with a lifetime warranty.

Peak Rotary Vice. I think it's right around 150.

ok i will look at the anvile ones, r they pretty good?

I've been using this one (with pedestal stand) for 10 years. I cannot justify an upgrade. It does everything I need it to do, from size 1/0 to size 28 hooks. I tie 75%+ of the flies I use, and they all come from this ugly old thing.

There are better ones out there, but I'm not interested in spending the money on them at this point in time. I save that for gear that helps me catch more fish and better enjoy my time outside.

Hey, I've got one of those nasty, old things. Although it is capable of tying flies smaller then a 20, I am not.

I have a HMH Standard and really like it.

ok i might just try a cheap one to start then thanks

for ~$40 this is hard to beat:
http://store.hookhack.com/E-Z-Rotary-Vises/products/229

I use a Renzetti Traveller, but I started with a Thompson Model A vise and still use it sometimes and it's a perfectly servicable tool.
The Cabela's AA appears to be an improved version of the old Thompson vise, so I heartily endorse it as well. I borrowed a "DanVise" once and didn't like it at all.

what about a basspro crown vise,
http://www.basspro.com/White-River-Fly-Shop-reg-Crown-Spring-Tension-Vise/product/10220904/-1760826
i believe it as a regal replica.

Honestly, I wish I'd bought that in the beginning. I suspect you'll get some quality time out of it to help you decide if you want to invest more, and what way you want to go.

Ya, I have a $450 Regal (purchased in Cabelas Bargain Cave for less obviously) and the jaws on this $40 unit are very similar. Seems like a winner to me.