problems with epoxy

fishingnoob

fishingnoob

Hey guys. I just got done tying a few emerald shiners for an upcoming steelhead trip. This is my first time using an epoxy to form a head on a fly. I bought loctite brand epoxy from walmart after talking with bob in volant who told me to just get a general epoxy. So far things aren't going so good. After making a decent epoxy head on one of the shiners I let it sit to dry for a few hours. I however came back to find that the epoxy soaked into the thread and the head I made was pretty much non existent. Have any of you had this problem before? and if so how do I prevent it from happening again. Or is there a better epoxy I should get?

I've found that a turning wheel - one of those battery powers rotater thingys - is helpful as it disperses the epoxy evenly and the centrifugal force helps keep it from soaking into materials quite so much. Without such a wheel, you have to manually turn the head or the epoxy will just gradually drip off the fly before it can dry.

Good advice Dave. What sucks is that I have to epoxy all the flies at once because if not I waste a funnel tube that mixes/makes it easy to disperse the epoxy since it will harden in the tube over time. I personally am leaning on a way to make this whole thing easier, that being loon's UV finish, but I really can't afford it at this time (just bought a set of tires). I might use a hairdryer to enhance the drying time next time I apply if it'll help.

You can still use a drying wheel & cover a batch of flies at once. If you're concerned about the cost of a commercial drying wheel (roughly $30-$40), you can make your own for a few bucks. Here is a link I used. DIY fly drying wheel