Prince Nymph

FlyGuyFromPa

FlyGuyFromPa

First, I'd like to say this was the very fist one I've tied. I'd also like to say constructive feedback/criticism is welcome. Anything I could have/do differently to make this look better? Thanks in advance for the input. I only had size 12 hooks left (need to get more) so that's what I tied it on.

Attachments

• Prince.jpg
    Prince.jpg
    139.2 KB · Views: 16
Looks good for your first try. Only thing I could see would be less wraps of thread near the hook eye. Less is better most of the time.

Less thread and a dab of head cement will hold it all together.

When I was taught to tie, I was taught to build up the head so it's somewhat even with the size of the fly. Is this something for this specific fly, or something I don't need to do on any fly? Thanks for the advise Becker.

I have never ever heard that before, but I am by no means an expert. I will tell you, that you do not have to with this fly.

I suppose everyone has their own methods of doing things. I will tie some with a smaller head to see how they look. Thread last a while, but if I can save more thread, I won't have to buy it as much. Thanks for the advise Becker. Is there anything else on this fly that looks wrong? Anything I can do to improve it?

Some people think you should build up a sort of head, but (no offense) that is not fitting for the size of the fly. The head on nymphs should at most be the same size as the eye of the hook. Keep it small, don't crowd the eye.