How Long?

T

Troy

Hi Everyone!
I just started tying a couple months ago. I only have mastered 2 flies so far. That is all I have tried. I can tie a good wooley bugger and bead head hares ear. I tie in gold ribbing and a shell case with my hares ear. I was wondering how long it should be taking me to tie a hares ear. It takes me about 20-30 minutes to tie one. I just want to see where I am at compared to others. Thanks!

Troy

I've been tying for over 5 years and it takes me a good ten minutes to tie most flies. Your speed will improve as you get more experience. I know I am a slow tier; a hare's ear nymph like you described can probably be done in just a few short minutes by an accomplished tier.

Troy, for what its worth, don’t worry about it. When I tie for leisure I tie slowly and enjoy making everything look perfect and adding this and that’s. Your speed will pick up as you tie more and more. Also the first several times you tie a new pattern it will take you longer to tie. Keep with a pattern until your familiar with it and then move on to something else. That will also make you more proficient. When I tie commercially it’s more of a chore and that’s where organizing your materials, laying out your stuff etc comes into play. I still enjoy it but the repetition of tying 4 dozen of the same flies all at once isn’t as fun.

CaptMatt wrote:
Also the first several times you tie a new pattern it will take you longer to tie. Keep with a pattern until your familiar with it and then move on to something else. That will also make you more proficient.

Probably the best advice anyone could give you.

When I first started tying I used to hop from pattern to pattern, size to size and it took me a LONG time to complete a fly. Now I do what the Cap'n recommends and I stick with one pattern and size until I get 16, (my minimum) tied in each size. It may be boring at times; but these days with proper advanced preparation I can usually easily complete my 16 flies in an hour.