Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

Go to/attractor nymphs

From Mercer, Pa
I know this has probably been discussed a lot so just shut me up if I'm beating a dead horse here.....

What are some of your favorite go-to nymphs? I'm new to tying and looking to fill a box with proven nymph patterns. So far I have the GRHR, PT, Stonefly, prince nymph, copper John. I need one more fly to fill up my box of "attractor" nymphs. Any suggestions? I'll have another box for midges/larvae/etc.

Posted on: 2013/3/12 22:50

Re: Go to/attractor nymphs

From State College
Green Weenie, Zug Bug, San Juan Worm,Walt's Worm

Posted on: 2013/3/12 23:22

From Altoona
I second the Walt's Worm. On a lot of streams around my area I usually tie one on first thing. There's not many times it doesn't produce. Another plus is that there's endless variations for it. Whatever your mind can think up.

Posted on: 2013/3/12 23:31

From Dallastown, PA
Hey Mario66,

I have a t-shirt that has your quote on it. I love that shirt. haha.

Did you know that back in the 1700's everyone drank beer in Philly, even kids because the water was so polluted it made everyone sick.

Carry on....

Posted on: 2013/3/12 23:34

From State College
I do remember reading that somewhere, I also read the quote may have been about wine and people substituted beer, so who knows. I couldn't imagine how dirty the Schuylkill and Delaware were back then.

Posted on: 2013/3/12 23:51

From Ferguson Twp.
My go to is a mink beadhead size 14, unless there is something specific going on I tie it on first.

Posted on: 2013/3/13 7:08

From Nazareth PA
I would add a Walt's worm or a Triple threat nymph.

Posted on: 2013/3/13 8:13

" It has always been my private conviction that any man who puts his intelligence against a fish and loses has it coming"...John Steinbeck

From Mercer, Pa