Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2) 3 »

Re: Generic olive nymph

From Wrightsville
I'm no expert on drifting nymph posture, but that style of hook will catch more fish.

That may be part of the difference between a straight shank and a curved shank considered everything else is the same. They hook the ones that would otherwise become "the rock bump that almost felt like a fish" fish.

Posted on: 3/3 20:30

From Ferguson Twp.
I got ya, I've read about a circle hook for salt water ffing that is supposed to be amazing at hook-ups. You're thinking maybe it's not the shape of the fly but the shape of the hook that's responsible for more sets. Interesting thought.

Posted on: 3/3 21:41

From Lewistown, PA
What's the thorax? Is it hare's ear? Or mink with the guard hairs? It's really spiky. The dubbing sticking out really suggests legs - they're almost as pronounced as if you had used a soft hackle for legs.

Posted on: 3/3 22:20

From Ferguson Twp.
Jeremy the thorax is hares ear & the legs are olive died partridge tied in under the wing pad.

Posted on: 3/4 6:21

From Lancaster
Several summers ago I got into fishing tricos. I switched to tying all of my trico spinner patterns on curved shank hooks. My hook up percentage went up significantly with the curved hook. I attributed it mainly to the offset hook point and wider gap on these hooks helping with a quicker hook set. I also feel the curved shank hook is much stronger than the straight shank hooks in the smaller sizes. I was regularly bending hooks on larger fish with straight shank hooks. I would think some of these characteristics would also apply to larger hook sizes although maybe not quite as dramatically as in the smaller ones. This is just a theory that I have gained some confidence in.

Posted on: 3/4 7:58

From pennsylvania
Quote:

barrybarry wrote: