Crab patterns?

ryguyfi

ryguyfi

I made my first attempt at a crab pattern for my trip to OC MD in August last night. I had a few thoughts that I just put together as I tied. Looked at a few pictures of the blue crabs and it came out OK at best.

Here's what I did.

Took 2 pieces of foam, tan on bottom, darker brown on top. Cut to resemble a shell (yeah I'm NOT an artist). The sides of the shell on the hook are at the eye, and the hook bend due to the way crabs move. I took the dark brown piece of foam and put the hook through it about 3/4 through the foam.

Took the saltwater hook before that and tied on some rubber legs. Then I wanted to tie in some longer blue hair for the claws, but mine wasn't long enough, so that will be fixed next time. I used some hair and tied in 2 clumps to resemble eyes pointing sideways on the hook.

I then took a needle and some 210 thread and sewed the two parts of the shell together around the edge.

I was thinking of some "alternative" methods of using weight the other day (thought of washers, nuts, etc) and decided on using 3 pennies. Figured I can't buy anything for .03, so I might as well just use the pennies. So I put them in between the 2 pieces of foam underneath the hook, so it points up (hopefully). Made the shell more rounded too.

That's it. It looks OK right now, but I'm hopefully gonna tie up a few more and tweak them before I post a few pictures on here.

Anyone have any quick and easy crab patterns for me to try out?

Ryan

Merkin crab. Its easy.

http://www.questoutdoors.net/skills/ftying/patterns/salt/merkin/

May Gfen, you know my style. Quick, easy, and my wife knits/crotches so there's plenty of yarn laying around my house.

I made them out of Plastic Canvas Yarn, poorman's antron. Wicks up water, kinky and holds good shape. Mix up the rows for a mottled look. Named after a whore's pubic mound wig, so its fun to say. Merkin Crab, is good fly.